5th Square Transit Committee Kick-off Meeting

Image: Arthur Etchells

Philadelphia needs a transit rider advocacy organization to advocate for transit service that is fast, frequent, and fair, and to organize with transit riders to win elections and change policy.

Join 5th Square as we kick-off our new Transit Committee, which will be charged with building that organization, and shaping local and state-level transit advocacy priorities.

Riders need an organized voice in upcoming decisions about redesigning the bus network and trolley modernization, and the SEPTA Key rollout needs a dedicated advocacy watchdog too. Transit riders also need an organized voice for better streets policy, more frequent evening and weekend service, and more local and state funding.

In addition to policy advocacy, the Transit Committee will also be charged with planning grassroots organizing campaigns in the different regions of Philadelphia to organize and mobilize transit riders politically for local service improvements and fare reforms, and candidates for office committed to making transit work better for riders.

At our first meeting we'll discuss 5th Square's work on transit advocacy so far (free transfers, SEPTA Key kiosk design, university pass), projects currently in the pipeline (City Council District bus service report cards, family-friendly fares), and brainstorm some possibilities for future campaigns with the group. Free pizza/BYOB.

Get involved. Sign up to volunteer and select 5th Square Transit Committee.

  • August 29, 2018 at 6:30pm – 8:30pm
    Add this event to your Google Calendar
  • Industrious
    230 S Broad St
    17th Floor
    Philadelphia, PA 19102
    United States
    Google map and directions
  • 55 people are going
  • Ben She
Yue Wu Bert Cossaboon Colin Wright Wayne Worthy Amelija Sorg-Taylor William Powell Michael Noda Brian Krisch Thomas Ceneri Jesse Weiss Zachary Powers Karly Kiefer Kara Kneidl Al Beatty Gregory Harris Kirtana Contractor Alexander Baum Michael Heaney Deirdre Dingman Tyler Tran Lee Wall Meredith Reynolds Zakia Elliott Jamie Song Owen Sindler Mike Bourg Jimmy Salfiti Sarah Scher Mason Carter Scott Winkleman isabel melvin Anna Cheyette Leonard Bonarek Jawad Pullin Steph Davis

Will you come?