First Annual 5th Square Urbanist Awards - 2019

Thank you to everyone who attended our year-end Holiday Party and Urbanist Awards ceremony at Radio Kismet on December 18th!

We just published a recap of our 2019 accomplishments and wanted to give one last shout-out to all the nominees and the winners from the night's awards ceremony.  We want to thank each one of the following nominees for their outstanding contributions to Philadelphia’s urbanist movement in 2019!


Neighborhood RCO Champion

  • Runners-Up:
    • Lorraine Gomez (Viola Street Residents Association)
    • Larissa Mogano (Cobbs Creek Neighbors Association)
  •  Winner:
    • Sarah Anton (Passyunk Square Civic Association)

Best Development of the Year

  • Runners-Up:
    • Banca Calabrese, 630-638 Christian Street (Lily Development)
    • Schaeffer School,4701 Germantown Avenue (Philly Office Retail)
  •  Winner:
    • Theatre Exile, 1340 S 13th St (Center City Development) Accepted by Andrew Ross

Urbanist Media Champion

  • Runners-Up:
    • Jason Laughlin (Inquirer)
    • Inga Saffron (Inquirer)
  •  Winner:
    • Ariella Cohen (PlanPhilly)

NIMBY Anti-Hero

  • Runners-Up:
    • The Philadelphia School
    • Bart Blatstein
  •  Winner:
    • Society Hill Civic Association


City Staffer of the Year

  • Runners-Up:
    • Corey Bell
    • Aaron Ritz
  •  Winner:
    • Jeannette Brugger

5th Square Volunteer of the Year

  • Winner:
    • Will Tung

Urbanist Changemaker of the Year

  • Runners-Up:
    • Katrina Johnston-Zimmerman
    • Megan Ryerson
  •  Winner:
    • Jamie Gauthier

The competition was fierce this first year of our awards and we thank all our well-deserved nominees and winners for participating!